Central Texas College (CTC) recently announced its employees and department of the year during a service awards ceremony in the Anderson Campus Center. Also announced was the Chancellor’s Award recipient and the Student’s Choice award winner for favorite faculty member.

Earning Employee of the Year honors for the CTC Fort Hood, Continental, Europe and Navy campuses were Donald Brown, vocational technology coordinator at CTC’s site Fort Leonard Wood, MO; and Claudia Torres, assistant director – Student Services department for the CTC Europe campus. The central campus non-academic employees of the year are Nikki Lane, office specialist II – Human Resources department; and Erika Einhaus, graduation evaluator – Graduation Services department. The academic employees of the year at the central campus are Paulino Moralez, Early College High School liaison – Public Education department; and Sam Jackson, professor – Engineering/Mathematics department.

The Department of the Year was won by the Department of Nursing and Allied Health. CTC Chancellor Jim Yeonopolus selected Debbi Austin, director – Payroll Services, as the winner of the Chancellor’s Award. And as voted on by students, the Student Choice award was presented to Marvin Price, department chairperson and faculty member of the Science/Agriculture department.

Photo: Debbi Austin, director - Payroll Services, accepts the Chancellor's Award from Jim Yeonopolus, CTC chancellor, during the 2018 Employee Service Awards ceremony.