Central Texas College (CTC) held an induction ceremony recently to recognize the spring 2017 semesterPhi Theta Kappa inductees to the school’s Sigma Iota Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. Thirteen students took the oath, signed the induction form then received certificates signifying their membership.

Each new member received a gold key membership pin and membership certificate. In addition, their diplomas and transcripts will include an honor society notation of membership. Members also have the privilege of wearing gold regalia during graduation to signify their Phi Theta Kappa membership.

The new Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society members are Nick Bernard, Arianna Greenwood, Kyle Gross, Crystal Innocent, Andrew McCord, Charles McNorton, Jr., Timothy Philpot, Laosha Quaites, Tawa Seabrook, Richard Smith, Brigit Ward, Danielle Whitbey and Jessie Wilkinson.

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes academic success of students at two-year colleges and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. It is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters across the country and the world. The American Association of Community Colleges recognizes Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society of two-year colleges.

The Sigma Iota Chapter opened at CTC in 1968. Students are required to maintain at least a 3.5 grade point average and have completed at least 30 college credit hours at CTC.


Photo: New Phi Theta Kappa members and current officers are (left to right): John Rogers, vice president; Jessie Wilkinson, inductee; Jasmine Jones, chapter secretary; Melissa Sundberg, inductee; Bridget Ward, inductee; Laosha Quaites, inductee; Chad Burrows, honorary inductee; Andrew McCord, inductee; Crystal Innocent, inductee; Danielle Whitbey, inductee; Arianna Greenwood, inductee; Tawa Seabrook, inductee; Richard Smith, inductee; Luis Varga, chapter public relations secretary; Nick Bernard, inductee; Maria Elmshauser, honorary inductee; Philip Crosby, chapter advisor; Tandra Honey; former chapter advisor; and Shelia Rodriguez, chapter president.