Central Texas College (CTC) held an induction ceremony to recognize the fall 2018 semester inductees to the Sigma Iota Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. Of the 98 new inductees at CTC sites across the globe this fall, more than 30 local students took the oath, signed the induction form and received membership certificates.

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes academic success of students at two-year colleges and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. It is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters across the country and the world and is the official honor society of two-year colleges.

The fall semester inductees are: Christina Jo Adams, Elizabeth Avila, Audrey Bohl Cantu, Tomara Brown, Ellen Cave, Ellen Crable, Deontrai Damond, Catalina Devarona, Kiera Dove, James Embrey, Ginger Forsgren, Lauren Gast, Katrina Gommels, Natalie Harden, Aaron Hauser and Sarah Hymes.

Also inducted were Nicole Johnson, Kenneth Jones, William Kunce, Deborah Macdonald, Spring Malave, Brittany McGee, Heather McLaughlin, Lacrissa Napoles, Tra Nguyen, Portia Nyarko, Teresa Phillips, Heather Segovia, Holly Seiger, Bethany Seivers, Amber Strawn, Monica Smith, Ronetta West and Tracey Williams. 

In addition to membership certificates, each inductee received a gold key pin and will now have an honor society notation on their diploma and transcripts. They also have the privilege of wearing gold regalia during graduation to signify their Phi Theta Kappa membership.

During the ceremony, Phi Theta Kappa officers recognized several CTC faculty members for their contributions to student success in the classroom. Honored faculty were Marvin Price, department chairman – Science/Agriculture; Sandra Whisler, professor – Biological Sciences; and Eva Hearn, faculty program coordinator – Office Technology (Medical).

The Sigma Iota Chapter opened at CTC in 1968. Students are required to maintain at least a 3.5 grade point average and have completed at least 30 college credit hours at CTC. Potential candidates for membership are first identified and then notified via email from Phi Theta Kappa National Headquarters. New members are inducted in both the fall and spring semesters.