The Central Texas College (CTC) Police Academy recently held a graduation ceremony at the Anderson Campus Police Academy graduationCenter for cadets completing the 19-week, 720-hour Basic Peace Officer course. Twenty-nine of the 30 graduating cadets were affiliated with a law enforcement agency and one was self-sponsored. All of the cadets passed the state licensing exam prior to graduation and are now qualified to become peace officers in Texas.

During the ceremony, several awards of achievement were presented. Kelsi Smith earned the academic honors award and Justin Orr received the Top Gear award for best driving competency. Chosen as class president by his peers was Richard Bond. Winner of the Charles “Chuck” Dinwiddie Top Gun award for best firearms proficiency was Rusty Bryant. The cadets voted Sgt. Steven O’Neal of the Copperas Cove Police Department as the winner of the Best Instructor award.

Throughout the course, cadets were subjected to numerous written exams and extensive hands-on training in defensive tactics, firearms and police vehicle operation. In addition, classroom work included victims’ rights, Texas Penal Code, Texas Traffic Code, Texas Family Code, criminal investigation, stress management, problem solving and more.

Graduates of the CTC Police Academy Basic Peace Officer 2019-Bravo course were Jeremy Blattel, Jeremy Brannon, David Czinder, Damion Dixon, James Griffith, Sarah Meeks, Derek Mungia, Meghan Newman, Jacob Perkins and Amanda Stiles – Temple Police Department; Justin Orr, Gregory Pena and Roger Snow – Copperas Cove Police Department; Richard Bond and Josh Kimberly – Cedar Park Police Department; Damien Parades, Kelsi Smith, Jason Vriseno and Leo William – Bell County Sheriff’s Department; Monica Montanez and Daniel Provencio – Dallas-Fort Worth Airport Police Department; Dillian Ford and Jeremiah Harden – Rockdale Police Department; Jimmy Gasaway – Coryell County Sheriff’s Office; Rusty Bryant – Temple Fire Department; Moses Guerrero – Taylor Police Department; Robert Nichols – Llano County Sheriff’s Department; Justin Taylor – Brownwood Police Department; Eric Woodruff – Harker Heights Police Department and Natalie Scott – self-sponsored.  


Pictured: CTC Police Academy Class 2019-Bravo academic award winner Kelsi Smith