Central Texas College (CTC) held a ceremony today to recognize students completing the Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) program in the spring semester. Nineteen students finished the one-year certificate program and are now eligible to take the state licensing exam to become a certified EMT by the Texas Department of Health and/or the National Registry of EMTs.

Guest speaker for the ceremony was Phillip Bannister, firefighter/paramedic who serves as a lieutenant with the Killeen Fire Department and CTC adjunct faculty member.

Several awards honoring both instructors and students were announced. Angela Bogart, class president, and Stephen Mahlstedt presented the Instructor of the Year award to Michael Rammiger. The Skills Instructor of the Year award was earned by Zachary Peterson. Clinical Preceptor of the Year and Tutor of the Year awards were won by Brandi Brice-Wolf. She was also named EMS Preceptor of the Year. Recognized as class valedictorian was Eric Schleinkofer and the salutatorian was Ryan Dyer.

Students who completed year-long program were Cody Bible, Angela Bogart, Bryana Clearman, Robert Cloud, Ryan Dyer, James Esquenazi, Jay Foster, Nicholas Hamilton, Nathan Houston, Stephen Mahlstedt, Charles Ragland, Timothy Rutledge, Erik Schleinkofer, Austin Schweiger, Chantae Spurgin, Matthew Thomas, Brenda Tovar, Robert Williams and Scott Worsdale.  These students will now take the state licensing exam which will be administered at CTC on Saturday, August 9.

CTC offers the EMT program as a one-year certificate program or a two-year credit program (69 credit hours) leading to an associate degree in applied science (EMT). The certificate program entails study in courses such as trauma management, EMT basic, clinical EMT, cardiology and EMS operations. Student also must participate in various clinicals and practicums.

CTC offers one of the only 35 nationally-accredited EMT programs in Texas. It is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs upon the recommendation of the Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the Emergency Medical Services Professions. For more information on this and other EMT/AEMT/Paramedic courses, including refresher courses offered at CTC, contact the CTC Nursing Department at 254-526-1265 or 254-526-1479.