- 22 years of age or older by the first day of the class start date; or
- only enrolling in online/distance education courses; or
- enrolled in a continuing education course or program that is less than 360 contact hours, or continuing education corporate training; or
- enrolled in a dual credit course at a public or private K-12 school; or
- Note: Texas students are required to receive an MCV4 vaccine on or after their 11th birthday.
- active duty U.S. armed forces; or
A student is not required to submit evidence of receiving the vaccination against bacterial meningitis if the student submits to the institution:
- An affidavit or certificate signed by a physician who is duly registered and licensed to practice medicine in the United States, stating that in the physician's opinion, the vaccination would be injurious to the health and well-being of the student; or
- A conscientious exemption form from the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) claiming an exemption for reasons of conscience, including a religious belief.
- For students obtaining exemptions from vaccination, these exemptions do not apply during a disaster or public health emergency, terrorist attack, hostile military or paramilitary action, or extraordinary law enforcement emergency; declared by an appropriate official or authority from the Texas Department of State Health Services; and in effect for the location of the institution the student attends.
According to DSHS rules, a copy of the exemption form must be submitted to the Office of Admissions & Recruitment and can be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
DSHS has certain requirements about the handling of the exemption form as described below.
1. How long is the notarized DSHS affidavit exemption form valid?
This document is valid for two (2) years after the signature date of the notary. For the initial filing, the form must be turned into the school within 90 days of being notarized or it is no longer valid, but no later than ten (10) days prior to the first day of the first semester in which the student enrolls in an institution. A new form is not necessary if the student is continuously enrolled at the same institution.
2. Can the DSHS public junior college exemption form be transferred to another institution?
The public junior college form is not transferrable as it is specific to the public junior college attended. Students will need to get a new exemption form in this instance.
3. Can the DSHS exemption forms be photocopied?
The DSHS affidavit is invalid if it is reproduced, but the public junior college form can be copied.
4. Where can I get a copy of my immunization records?
Students may get a copy of their immunization records from their private healthcare provider or local health department, depending on where the vaccination(s) were administered. If the student's immunization records are in ImmTrac2, the Texas Immunization Registry, he or she can request a copy by calling the Texas Immunization Information Line at 1-800-252-9152. Please note that individuals 18-26 years of age must re-consent as an adult in order to stay in the registry.
5. If I took just took a COVID vaccine is there a waiting period to take the bacterial meningitis vaccination?
COVID-19 vaccines and other vaccines may now be administered without regard to timing. This includes simultaneous administration of COVID-19 vaccine and other vaccines on the same day, as well as coadministration within 14 days.