The Central Texas College (CTC) Police Academy held a graduation ceremony on Friday for 23 cadets completing the 19-week, 720-hour Basic Peace Officer (BPOC) course. The ceremony was broadcast live on Facebook for families to “attend.”

Guest speaker was former Killeen police officer Ed Odom, Sr. who addressed the cadets through a recorded video presentation. Odom served in the U.S. Army for 23 years and then pursued a career in law enforcement. He served six years for the Killeen Police Department before acting as the director of training for the CTC Police Academy for 17 years. Now at 94 years of age, he resides in Killeen with his wife, Edith, of 63 years. Together they have four children, eight grandchildren and five great-grandchildren. Odom’s grandson, Wyatt of the Harker Heights Police Department, is part of the graduating class.

During the ceremony, several awards of achievement were presented. Haime Edwards of the Bell County Sheriff’s Office earned the academic honors award with a 98.9 percent average. The class average for all course exams was 95 percent. The Top Gear award for best driving competency was presented to Nash Martinez of the Bell County Sheriff’s Office. Winner of the Charles “Chuck” Dinwiddie Top Gun award for best firearms proficiency was Alex Penning of the Dallas-Fort Worth Airport Police Department. Selected class president by his peers was Kenneth Cagnon of the Belton Police Department. The cadets voted John Wilkerson of the Bell County Sheriff’s Office the winner of the Best Guest Instructor award.

Graduates of the CTC Police Academy Basic Peace Officer 2020-Bravo course were Jonathan Arwood, Copperas Cove Police Department; Bambi Basinger, Harker Heights Police Department; William Benoit, Copperas Cove Police Department; Kenneth Cagnon, Belton Police Department; Delon Davis, Copperas Cove Police Department; Caelyne Dial, Georgetown Police Department; Haime Edwards, Bell County Sheriff’s Office; Mary Fox, Georgetown Police Department; Ashley Guevara, Hamilton Police Department; Bryan Heinrich, self-sponsored; and Patrick Hogan, Harker Heights Police Department.

Also graduating were Jeremy Knaus, Milam County Sheriff’s Office; Zachary Krejci, Rockdale Police Department; Oscar Leos-Salas, Bell County Sheriff’s Office; Drew Lewis, Taylor Police Department; Nash Martinez, Bell County Sheriff’s Office; Wyatt Odom, Harker Heights Police Department; Alex Penning, Dall-Fort Worth Airport Police Department; Jonathan Pratt, Belton Police Department; Reymundo Salinas, Granite Shoals Police Department; Michael Stewart, Rockdale Police Department; Dutsin Weaver, Harker Heights Police Department; and Trent Willingham, Coryell County Sheriff’s Office.

All of the cadets in the BPOC 2020 Bravo class passed the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement state licensing exam and are now qualified to become peace officers in Texas.

Photo: BPOC 2020 Bravo class president Kenneth Cagnon, Belton Police Department, presents the class plaque which will be displayed in the CTC Police Academy building.  

More photos of the graduation are available at